A Salute To ‘SILVERSTEIN’

To Silverstein
For all the beauty & memories
The heartfelt lyrics & infectious melodies

For over a decade
You’ve played on my heart-strings
So on this day that marks my birth
I attribute to the band of which my soul sings


From when we heard that ‘Red Light Pledge’
Our hearts ‘Smashed to Pieces’ in ecstasy
& the gaping hole in our chests
Refilled with your words so beautifully

#Silverstein #WhenBrokenIsEasilyFixed

To ‘Discovering the Waterfront’
& those songs making us ‘Smile In Our Sleep’
From when a Heroine was your heroin
To the heartbreaks that cut so deep

#Silverstein #DiscoveringTheWaterfront

They can blame it on the weather
But we will never recover from this
The way you make us come alive
‘Always and Never’ will we forget this bliss

#Silverstein #DiscoveringTheWaterfront

Not saying your music is better than perfect
Cause something like that will never exist
But if you could see into our souls
You’d know ‘Worlds Apart’ we still feel this

#Silverstein #ArrivalsAndDepartures

‘A Great Fire’ began the burning album
Aflame with emotion-stoking odes of betrayal
“& even if they disagree, follow your dreams”
My anthem to uphold as long as I am able

#Silverstein #AShipwreckInTheSand

And then the ‘Rescue’
It crowned you as my all time favourite band
One whose music helps make this sinking Godless joke
A world we’re able to stand

#Silverstein #Rescue

“Holding hands was the gateway drug
That led to the mess I’m in”
From ‘Burning Hearts’ to broken ones
These songs kept soothing us within

#Silverstein #Rescue

‘Short Songs’ the punk-rock salute
Hit like the gobsmack anthems they were meant to
They set our ‘World On Fire’
& gave us something to mosh to

#Silverstein #ShortSongs

Even with northern massuchussetts betrayals
Arrivals, departures & being left as a jaded mess full of hate and fear
This album felt like all highs
‘A Better Place’ eliciting nothing but smiles with the tears

#Silverstein #ThisIsHowTheWindShifts

Returning to a home that won’t ever feel like home
A note that played so true in me
As this ‘Milestone’ album brought us your ‘Toronto’
That vulnerable truth you let us see

#Silverstein #IAmAliveInEverythingITouch

Undoubtedly my hymn on this one
Was definitively that ‘Aquamarine’
Perhaps I’m a little bit broken
But I find that song so bittersweet

#Silverstein #DeadReflection

And now I’ve found
Such ‘A Beautiful Place To Drown’
Every song has me alive with that Silverstein sound
Even at the bad times when I’m living in the let-downs

#Silverstein #ABeautifulPlaceToDrown

Whether we wait just one
Or we’re ‘Waiting Four Years’
We’ll be here for the awesomeness you bring
To fuel our souls & feed our ears

One comment on “A Salute To ‘SILVERSTEIN’

  1. Dear Ethan,

    Thank you for your tribute to ‘SILVERSTEIN’. Well done!

    Happy November to you!

    Yours sincerely,
    SoundEagle

Leave a comment